PC Users: Keyboard/Mouse Or Controller?

Language: JP EN DE FR
2010-09-08
New Items
users online
Forum » FFXI » General » PC Users: Keyboard/Mouse or Controller?
PC Users: Keyboard/Mouse or Controller?
First Page 2 3
 Fenrir.Dramanue
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Dramanue
By Fenrir.Dramanue 2009-05-18 18:13:36
Link | Quote | Reply

I've been playing FFXI for the past 4 years using a PS2 controller attached through a USB peripheral (KiKy-joy if you must know). It's the one and only way I've learned to play since I started off playing on the PS2 then moved on to the PC. My girlfriend who normally plays Korean/JP online mmo's on her laptop is interested in playing ffxi with me, and so I'd like to know other people's general opinions on how to play the game most comfortably.

Should I get her a controller or will she be able to easily control the game using her keyboard and touchpad? Keep in mind, she is rather well versed in using her touchpad so much so that she can Photoshop with it with little difficulty (I was surprised she was able to mask rather proficiently with it). So yeah.. the question stands.. will she be able to play with keyboard/pad or should I just get her a controller?
 Cerberus.Maryanne
Server: Cerberus
user: Maryanne
By Cerberus.Maryanne 2009-05-18 18:15:53
Link | Quote | Reply

I play with my keyboard and swear by it. I never use the mouse, though.
My boyfriend uses a controller and swears by it.
It's really up to her preference. Either one is based on personal style and comfort levels. Neither are hard to learn with. ^^
 Shiva.Artemicion
Server: Shiva
user:
By Shiva.Artemicion 2009-05-18 18:16:50
 Delete | Edit  | Link | Quote | Reply