Random Question Thread (FFXI Related)

Language: JP EN DE FR
2010-09-08
New Items
users online
Forum » FFXI » General » Random Question thread (FFXI related)
Random Question thread (FFXI related)
First Page 2 3 ... 526 527 528 ... 573 574 575
 Bismarck.Firedemon
Offline
Server: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: Firedemon
Posts: 376
By Bismarck.Firedemon 2018-02-19 13:16:51
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Awesome thanks guys.
Offline
Posts: 93
By oyama 2018-02-19 14:04:33
Link | Quote | Reply
 
What does TPDK mean?
Offline
By clearlyamule 2018-02-19 14:05:15
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Tp drain kiss
 Shiva.Berzerk
Offline
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Berzerk06
Posts: 200
By Shiva.Berzerk 2018-02-19 15:02:47
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Phoenix.Supakoneko said: »
Can Gravewood Log appear in Reisenjima brown caskets?

Yes, although rarely
[+]
 Asura.Beatsbytaru
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 269
By Asura.Beatsbytaru 2018-02-19 16:52:49
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Bismarck.Firedemon said: »
Can you pop a VNM with an alt and log out without the abyssite changing?
Yeah, it works. I warped my mule after popping to avoid it upgrading.
 Odin.Drakenv
Offline
Server: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: Drakenv
Posts: 3298
By Odin.Drakenv 2018-02-20 08:44:35
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Beatsbytaru said: »
Bismarck.Firedemon said: »
Can you pop a VNM with an alt and log out without the abyssite changing?
Yeah, it works. I warped my mule after popping to avoid it upgrading.
Was so excited for this trick. 8 hours later still no tier 2 upgrade ....
Offline
By clearlyamule 2018-02-20 10:41:53
Link | Quote | Reply
 
You can also just hold on to the changed and get a new and it wont upgrade either
 Asura.Neufko
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: siskotaru
Posts: 226
By Asura.Neufko 2018-02-20 11:01:48
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Beatsbytaru said: »
Bismarck.Firedemon said: »
Can you pop a VNM with an alt and log out without the abyssite changing?
Yeah, it works. I warped my mule after popping to avoid it upgrading.

Just a reminder, droping from pt WON'T work. You'll still get the upgrade even if the mob is claimed by someone else.
Offline
Posts: 321
By tyalangan 2018-02-21 12:27:16
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Any place to purchase paralyze, sleeping, and silencing potions besides AH or are these crafted only?
 Asura.Geriond
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Gerion
Posts: 713
By Asura.Geriond 2018-02-22 04:09:22
Link | Quote | Reply
 
To enter a Meeble expedition past the first, only the leader needs to have progress recorded in their grimoire, right?
Offline
Posts: 300
By DaneBlood 2018-02-22 21:21:45
Link | Quote | Reply
 
instigator vs skirmis Gaxe ? which is better?
and what is the best path for instigator?

Gear is ambsucade +2 gear (mixed of both sets for war)
Offline
Posts: 5502
By Pantafernando 2018-02-23 13:24:35
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Hi.

Ive been farming some escha bead with mule (blu and geo) and noticed that you need to get overall evaluation over 75k to earn 1000 beads.

For that, even just spamming cdc dont garantee 1000 beads if the fight is too fast, let alone geo that barely break 40k eval meleeing.

So the question is if there is an optimized route to get high evaluation on domain invasion so that i can get overall eval 75k+ faster.

Thabks in advance
 Asura.Geriond
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Gerion
Posts: 713
By Asura.Geriond 2018-02-23 13:33:17
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Dual wield low delay weapons with as much crit rate gear as you can, max out haste, and don't ever WS. If your job can, throwing on enspells of some kind helps too.

Stacking as many crits as you can, regardless of damage, is the best way to bring up evaluation ASAP.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 5502
By Pantafernando 2018-02-25 04:20:39
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Hi.

I had to do a restore in my notebook and with that the FFXI was deleted.

While im playing in my old notebook, the new one was installing the game but now there is that 8h update ahead.

Is there anything i can do to update the game without needing to log my account there?

Thanks in advance.
Offline
Posts: 2349
By Freehugs 2018-02-25 06:56:36
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Pantafernando said: »
Hi.

I had to do a restore in my notebook and with that the FFXI was deleted.

While im playing in my old notebook, the new one was installing the game but now there is that 8h update ahead.

Is there anything i can do to update the game without needing to log my account there?

Thanks in advance.
Download and copy and overwrite these into your Final Fantasy XI folder inside the PoL folder. PoL > SE > FFXI
Then run PoL and check files on the left side menu and it should download everything/repair the copied files.

or renaming a dat in XI works too I've heard.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 576
By Nyarlko 2018-02-25 13:02:40
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Pantafernando said: »
Hi.

Ive been farming some escha bead with mule (blu and geo) and noticed that you need to get overall evaluation over 75k to earn 1000 beads.

For that, even just spamming cdc dont garantee 1000 beads if the fight is too fast, let alone geo that barely break 40k eval meleeing.

So the question is if there is an optimized route to get high evaluation on domain invasion so that i can get overall eval 75k+ faster.

Thabks in advance

AOE'ing adds, killing adds, curing/buffing others.. That's usually plenty to cap out as long as there are at least 3x players present. More players = more adds, forget what the cap on them is, so be careful if there are more than 4x players if you are not BLU.
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Anjou
Posts: 12
By Asura.Zarduhasselfrau 2018-02-25 23:19:03
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Zarduhasselfrau said: »
Is there a trick to doing WoE veridical conflux 4? Sometimes I get a proc which stuns the nm for a bit but not sure how it's triggered... otherwise i'm constantly stun locked

Bump!
Offline
Posts: 93
By oyama 2018-02-26 00:34:33
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I'm having a resolution issue with Windower. It keeps setting the FFXI config tool's screen settings to 640x480 for overlay and 512x512 for background resolution. Draylo had a similar issue he brought up in this same topic in 2012, but the solution he got doesn't make sense as those files and options seem not to exist anymore in Windower 4, or if they do I don't know where they are.

Windower is run as administrator, Notepad++ run as administrator, Windower settings set to 1920x1080, POL/FFXI and Windower files are in Program Files(x86) directory.

settings.xml file has the following contents:
Code
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<settings>
  <autoload>
    <addon>azureSets</addon>
    <addon>findAll</addon>
    <addon>GearSwap</addon>
    <addon>instaLS</addon>
    <addon>organizer</addon>
    <addon>shortcuts</addon>
    <addon>Silence</addon>
    <addon>enternity</addon>
    <addon>ConsoleBG</addon>
    <addon>distance</addon>
    <addon>scoreboard</addon>
    <addon>timestamp</addon>
    <addon>TParty</addon>
    <plugin>DelayMeNot</plugin>
    <plugin>FFXIDB</plugin>
    <plugin>WinControl</plugin>
  </autoload>
  <profile name="Oyama">
    <region>US</region>
    <consolekey>Insert</consolekey>
    <windowmode>Window</windowmode>
    <width>1920</width>
    <height>1080</height>
    <mipmaplevel>6</mipmaplevel>
    <uiscale>1</uiscale>
  </profile>
</settings>


I tried pasting this at the end of init.txt file too (since I couldn't find anything else resembling launcher.init).

Any ideas? Game looks horrible, can barely read text.

EDIT: I got the overlay res value to persist, but background resolution keeps reverting to 512x512. I can make text a little easier to read by increasing the size using UI Scale, but it's still the same poor quality just bigger. How do I set background resolution in Windower?
 Asura.Pergatory
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Pergatory
Posts: 886
By Asura.Pergatory 2018-02-26 10:51:44
Link | Quote | Reply
 
oyama said: »
How do I set background resolution in Windower?
Windower has a setting called "Supersampling" that controls the background resolution. It sets the background resolution as some multiple of the screen resolution.

I'm pretty sure Windower would never use something like 512x512, that's a FFXIConfig option for sure, so it makes me think Windower isn't able to apply its settings.

Are you launching Windower as administrator?
Offline
Posts: 93
By oyama 2018-02-26 13:18:00
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Super sampling doesn't seem to have any effect. I've set it anywhere from 1 to 3 in settings.xml and it always looks the same.

For now I've just set the overlay to a lower resolution and scaled up the UI a bit to help with menu text being nearly illegible. The lower overlay resolution helped with overall graphics quality though, so maybe it's a hardware issue. I use a 36 inch widescreen hdtv with 1920x1080 as the recommended resolution setting.

And yes, everything is run as administrator.
Offline
Posts: 576
By Nyarlko 2018-02-26 13:40:51
Link | Quote | Reply
 
It's quite possible that Windows itself is overriding your Windower settings.

Right-click Windower > Compatibility tab > make sure that nothing is checked except admin.

Also:
Right-click your desktop > Display Settings > Scale and Layout > make sure text size is 100%.

The 2nd one is what I had to deal with when I installed on a new laptop w/ 1080p resolution. Windows liked to set the OS UI to 125% by default, which FUBAR'd FFXI.
 
Offline
Posts:
By 2018-02-27 12:55:43
 Undelete | Edit  | Link | Quote | Reply
 
Post deleted by User.
 Leviathan.Celebrindal
Offline
Server: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
Posts: 1228
By Leviathan.Celebrindal 2018-02-27 14:44:59
Link | Quote | Reply
 
You can lockstyle a RMEA and you will glow the color of that RMEA. Even if you physically equip a different RMEA, the lockstyled one dominates. As for the pulse weapons and armor, i know for the weapons you have to actually have to engage to get the glow. Not sure on armors.

Example: on corsair i prefer the sword look of Murgleis, so it's my lockstyle sword. Even when I equip my Armageddon, I still glow blue.
 
Offline
Posts:
By 2018-02-27 14:50:25
 Undelete | Edit  | Link | Quote | Reply
 
Post deleted by User.
Offline
Posts: 321
By tyalangan 2018-02-27 23:19:21
Link | Quote | Reply
 
What other mobs can be healed besides puks? Also, is there a reference for mobs like these (if they exist)?
Offline
By clearlyamule 2018-02-27 23:23:43
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Slugs can pretty much every mob avatar can. Over on bg testing section we are compiling jp mob data that they are gather that among other things has absorbs on it
[+]
Offline
Posts: 321
By tyalangan 2018-02-27 23:45:20
Link | Quote | Reply
 
"Legends of the hidden JP testing" thread? Found a spreadsheet on the last page so I assume that's it.

Thanks for info! Very cool stuff.
Offline
By clearlyamule 2018-02-28 00:09:14
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Yes and yeah Nyarklo keeps translating the individual mob data and putting it into a spreadsheet. Sometimes it's in the OP but OP is updates not the fastest so best to check his last post
[+]
 Valefor.Yandaime
Offline
Server: Valefor
Game: FFXI
user: Yandaime
Posts: 201
By Valefor.Yandaime 2018-02-28 06:04:38
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Anyone know what the Darkmatter Augment rates are compared to the Techniques campaign? There are DM Augments that I want but if they Craptastically the same, I won’t bother
 Asura.Geriond
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Gerion
Posts: 713
By Asura.Geriond 2018-02-28 09:48:51
Link | Quote | Reply
 
They're the exact same.
First Page 2 3 ... 526 527 528 ... 573 574 575
Log in to post.