Random Question Thread (FFXI Related)

Language: JP EN DE FR
2010-09-08
New Items
users online
Forum » FFXI » General » Random Question thread (FFXI related)
Random Question thread (FFXI related)
First Page 2 3 ... 701 702
Offline
By RadialArcana 2021-05-02 02:32:28
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Cerberus.Dekar said: »
A friend took he and I into Odyssey Sheol - Gaol. After taking us to fight Arebati he passed me leader. For some reason I was able to summon some trusts that I do not have--Ygnas included. I know my friend at least has Ygnas. Is this normal?

I believe this was the fix they added for the lag.

Instead of checking what trusts you have constantly, they give everyone the same list and lock them out when called.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 22
By Gambits 2021-05-03 20:40:01
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Is there a higher level H2H weapon that does pierce damage like Birdbanes?
 Asura.Geriond
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Gerion
Posts: 1807
By Asura.Geriond 2021-05-03 21:53:53
Link | Quote | Reply
 
RadialArcana said: »
Cerberus.Dekar said: »
A friend took he and I into Odyssey Sheol - Gaol. After taking us to fight Arebati he passed me leader. For some reason I was able to summon some trusts that I do not have--Ygnas included. I know my friend at least has Ygnas. Is this normal?

I believe this was the fix they added for the lag.

Instead of checking what trusts you have constantly, they give everyone the same list and lock them out when called.
It was not; you automatically received all non-UC trusts before the update as well.
 Bahamut.Negan
Offline
Server: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: Negan
Posts: 1037
By Bahamut.Negan 2021-05-03 23:15:31
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Gambits said: »
Is there a higher level H2H weapon that does pierce damage like Birdbanes?
X
[+]
 Asura.Aldolol
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Aldolol
Posts: 63
By Asura.Aldolol 2021-05-06 08:27:25
Link | Quote | Reply
 
If for some reason you were an idiot and throw away a Homiliary by accident is there anyway to retrieve this that isn't item restoration?
Offline
By RadialArcana 2021-05-06 08:46:53
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Just checked, can't send it over from another character on the same account. So you can't quest it on another character and send it over.
Offline
Posts: 378
By Thunderjet 2021-05-07 00:57:20
Link | Quote | Reply
 
i am trying to justify to R15 burtgang so does Burtgang Gives +100 enmity for ur when u attonment, or just what BG wiki says?
 Ragnarok.Martel
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2565
By Ragnarok.Martel 2021-05-07 01:43:10
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Thunderjet said: »
i am trying to justify to R15 burtgang so does Burtgang Gives +100 enmity for ur when u attonment, or just what BG wiki says?
The augment is actually fTP+1 on Atonement's enmity modifier. So the bonus is separate from enmity+ gear.

It effectively turns a 1k TP Atonement into a 3k TP Atonement in terms of enmity generation.
So 300CE/900VE at 1K TP becomes 600CE/1800VE before enmity+ gear. And a 3K TP Atonement goes from 600CE/1800VE to 900CE/2700VE.

It's a very significant gain in enmity generation, and makes Atonement spam a comparable tanking style to spell spam.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 114
By GwenStacy 2021-05-07 09:14:50
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Is there anyway to move the position of your character on the character selection screen (before you enter the game)
Offline
Posts: 1194
By FaeQueenCory 2021-05-07 12:46:11
Link | Quote | Reply
 
GwenStacy said: »
Is there anyway to move the position of your character on the character selection screen (before you enter the game)
I do not believe so. (I'm assuming you're talking about the 16 slots on the character select menu.)
 Asura.Eiryl
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Eiryl
By Asura.Eiryl 2021-05-07 12:49:49
Link | Quote | Reply
 
That'd be a nice QOL thing they could do semi easily. Not super relevant but I've wanted to change their order before too.
Offline
Posts: 114
By GwenStacy 2021-05-07 15:50:13
Link | Quote | Reply
 
yeah i'd just like to keep hitting enter when i'm logging in, i guess the secret is to never log out
[+]
 Shiva.Thorny
Online
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Rairin
Posts: 811
By Shiva.Thorny 2021-05-07 18:43:21
Link | Quote | Reply
 
if you delete all your characters, then make a new one, it'll go to the first position

(not any way to change it that i know of, first open slot is always taken, so order gets messed up as soon as you delete a character that wasn't the most recent character made)
 Asura.Eiryl
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Eiryl
By Asura.Eiryl 2021-05-07 18:45:12
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Well yeah, but I don't think that solves their problem.

Could in theory delete all the accounts infront of the "main"and not make new accounts though... depends how important they are.
 Shiva.Thorny
Online
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Rairin
Posts: 811
By Shiva.Thorny 2021-05-07 18:48:03
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Can make the new accounts before deleting the old ones, and I believe it'll keep the main in front.
 Asura.Eiryl
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Eiryl
By Asura.Eiryl 2021-05-07 18:55:25
Link | Quote | Reply
 
You would be forever stuck with 15 max, could never make the last one? Would come down to how badly you want that last mule I guess? unless deleting and recalling that character would put it back into slot 16, but seems excessive.

But I would assume the character in slot one, probably has some meaning or they would've went ahead and deleted it already. But just guessing.
 Bahamut.Greyfawkz
Offline
Server: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: gymj1m
Posts: 358
By Bahamut.Greyfawkz 2021-05-07 22:58:04
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Didn't want to make another thread, but has anyone seen any connection issues today?

I can be in certain zones like Norg, Sauromugue champaign, and a few others.

When I'm in Port Jeuno, I instantly R0 and disconnect.

Tried a tracert, not sure if it's the right IP, but seems like it. (found on some old forums)


Tracing route to ffxi00.pol.com [61.195.48.209]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 10 ms 8 ms 9 ms 10.48.0.1
3 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 24-220-7-208-static.midco.net [24.220.7.208]
4 20 ms 18 ms 19 ms 24-220-255-71-static.midco.net [24.220.255.71]
5 21 ms 20 ms 19 ms 24-220-14-25-static.midco.net [24.220.14.25]
6 22 ms 20 ms 20 ms ae52.bar3.Minneapolis2.Level3.net [4.15.191.201]
7 150 ms 149 ms 163 ms ae-1-3506.edge3.Tokyo4.Level3.net [4.69.219.222]
8 167 ms 164 ms 165 ms 113.29.12.154
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.

Anyone smart with networking to know what to check, or am I just wasting my time and it's not something I can fix?

-Tried rebooting router
-Changed DNS to google
-Tried logging in via my hotspot, on another PC, and it worked fine.
-Tried checkfiles, and nothing was corrupt/no issues.

Anyone with any insight is appreciated.

Thanks!
Offline
Posts: 8697
By Pantafernando 2021-05-08 05:00:02
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Bahamut.Greyfawkz said: »
-Tried logging in via my hotspot, on another PC, and it worked fine.

Did you mean you could play normally on one machine and not on the other, or are you having that problem regardless of the machine?

Problems with ping could have several reason, first thing to do is to isolate the problem before trying to solve it, instead of trying a dozen of random solution.

First checking for sure is to know if the problem is on your computer or on the SE server. This can be easily done by using different computers and/or different network.

So, try first connecting the game using your default internet. If its no good, try routing your cellphone internet and see if it change something. If you have another computer with the game installed, or another friend thats playing, you can see if you can replicate the problem.

Needless to say, if you can isolate the problem to your computer, you surely can do something to fix it. If regardless of computer or network the problem persist, then its a server problem and there is nothing to do aside waiting.
First Page 2 3 ... 701 702
Log in to post.