Where Did All The Freedom Go?

Language: JP EN DE FR
2010-09-08
New Items
users online
Forum » Everything Else » Politics and Religion » Where did all the freedom go?
Where did all the freedom go?
By Trebold 2010-04-20 17:57:35
Link | Quote | Reply

Valefor.Sketchkat said:
I'm not going to pretend I'm an expert on Sharia, so I'm asking a question: Do Sunni and Shi'a Muslims have different interpretations of Sharia? If so, how does that affect a country with high populations of both?

Well, by example, United Arab Emirates is predominately Sunni Muslims. While in Iraq, it's mostly Shiite Muslims. Sharia Law is in both these nations, but it's much more neutral in UAE. On the far right, you'll have people who stone girls to death for being raped because they've lost their virginity before marriage. And on the left, you won't see that, but you'll still see penalties for going against the law, as in being gay as I've said a lot already.

So, yes, they have do have strict vs. lenient interpretations of Sharia, however, it's still based off of a 1400 year old law-book.
By Trebold 2010-04-20 18:01:28
Link | Quote | Reply

Valefor.Sketchkat said:
I'm not going to pretend I'm an expert on Sharia, so I'm asking a question: Do Sunni and Shi'a Muslims have different interpretations of Sharia? If so, how does that affect a country with high populations of both?

Sorry, didn't answer your last question. What ends up happening is pretty much the same thing as what happens when Republicans and Democrats duke it out. Except there's often more hostility because religion is involved in the matter.
 Lakshmi.Jaerik
Administrator
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Jaerik
By Lakshmi.Jaerik 2010-04-20 18:02:21
Link | Quote | Reply

Trebold said:
How many US-laws (that are actually acted upon, not those bogus "beating your wife on Sundays is ok" laws which aren't acted on) say that if you like gay sex, then you should be put to death?