Switch Monitor Help

Language: JP EN DE FR
2010-09-08
New Items
users online
Forum » Windower » General » Switch Monitor help
Switch Monitor help
 Asura.Bayonette
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 86
By Asura.Bayonette 2020-03-01 11:08:44
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I recently started dualboxing with an Xbox One controller on Windows 10. I downloaded switch mon and it wont recognize my 2 open game windows even when I refresh it manually. Does anyone know what I might be doing wrong?
 Leviathan.Draugo
Online
Server: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2122
By Leviathan.Draugo 2020-03-01 11:15:14
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Using an Xbox style controller. Dual shock PS style all the way! I am kidding, but you wouldn't need switch mon, with PS style.
 Ragnarok.Corvinus
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
user: Xiong
Posts: 76
By Ragnarok.Corvinus 2020-03-01 11:33:24
Link | Quote | Reply
 
https://www.ffxiah.com/forum/topic/51221/switchmon-help#3278829

This worked for me, hopefully it does for you as well.
 Asura.Bayonette
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 86
By Asura.Bayonette 2020-03-01 11:36:02
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I read that entire thread prior to posting, I was expecting to encounter those issues, but my issue is that the game windows are not recognized at all.
 Asura.Bayonette
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 86
By Asura.Bayonette 2020-03-01 14:10:42
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Ragnarok.Corvinus said: »
https://www.ffxiah.com/forum/topic/51221/switchmon-help#3278829

This worked for me, hopefully it does for you as well.

Running switchmon in admin mode got the windows to populate, now I have the issue where it wont switch windows unless switch mon is in focus. I followed Jeph's guide but still no go. Xinput is targeting switchmon and I set it up like he said, still wont work. Hmmm.

Do I have to assign buttons within xinputplus or something?
 Asura.Clockworkx
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Dartanion
Posts: 6
By Asura.Clockworkx 2020-03-01 16:30:05
Link | Quote | Reply
 
what version are you using? i had problems using 1.1.0. reverted to using 1.0.0 and never had a problem ever since.
 Bahamut.Krizz
Offline
Server: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: Krizz
Posts: 3140
By Bahamut.Krizz 2020-03-01 19:21:39
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Clockworkx said: »
what version are you using? i had problems using 1.1.0. reverted to using 1.0.0 and never had a problem ever since.
I have the same problem. I used SwitchMon a year or so ago when I played for a bit again, but I guess a Windows update broke it since. I uninstalled 1.1.0, and now no other version will load. I can see them pop up in task manager, but that's about it. Run as admin and compatibility are useless. Frustrating.
 Ragnarok.Corvinus
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
user: Xiong
Posts: 76
By Ragnarok.Corvinus 2020-03-01 19:29:09
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Something super weird that happened to me. Switchmon wouldn't work if I moved the folder; I put it in a folder with ffxi stuff. It would work when I left it in the downloads folder.
 Asura.Bayonette
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 86
By Asura.Bayonette 2020-03-01 20:12:43
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Thank you everyone for the fast replies. I gave up and dug out an old wired 360 controller. Now everything works flawlessly. It's really nice swapping chars on the fly!
 Asura.Bayonette
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 86
By Asura.Bayonette 2020-03-04 11:24:16
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Self bump:

Played a few days with the 360 controller and I realize how awful the dpad is, and how dependent ffxi is on a good dpad. I grabbed a logitech F310 to try tonight. Dpad feels nice and clicky.

Can anyone recommend a controller they use successfully with ffxi and switchmon?
 Asura.Eiryl
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Eiryl
By Asura.Eiryl 2020-03-04 11:31:01
Link | Quote | Reply
 
man the good ol 310, that's some nostalgia right there. 310 works fine with switchmon. I use the R1 button as the forward switch, no backward switch.
 Asura.Clockworkx
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Dartanion
Posts: 6
By Asura.Clockworkx 2020-03-04 12:03:04
Link | Quote | Reply
 
310 is what i have too. hate the dpad for emulators but works just fine for 11 which is the only thing that mattered. 'select' button i have mapped for switching instances and 'r1' for discord chat.
 Asura.Eiryl
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Eiryl
By Asura.Eiryl 2020-03-04 12:11:55
Link | Quote | Reply
 
The 310 D-pad is *** for playing emulators that don't use analog sticks for sure lol. it's fine for the menus in XI for about six months before it fails though. Usually left stops working and you have to get a new one twice a year. (if you play as much as I used to)
 Ragnarok.Corvinus
Offline
Server: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
user: Xiong
Posts: 76
By Ragnarok.Corvinus 2020-03-04 12:43:00
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Idk about the regular xbox controllers, but I prefer to use the elite. A most cost effective alternative controller would be the Power A ones.
Log in to post.