Forum » FFXI » Jobs » Dark Knight » Weapon skills
Weapon skills
 Odin.Arbok
Server: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: Sunbright
By Odin.Arbok 2011-09-01 18:26:05
Link | Quote | Reply

I just started playing again. I had never really leveled DRK, so here I am. My only question is this: I remember that DRKs only had a couple of good scythe WS's. because of that, DRK's would use great swords until higher levels, then once getting (guillotine, I think) they would switch over to scythes.

What do I need to know about this?

Also, anything else you think a new player should know that wasn't mentioned on stickies, etc.
 Sylph.Cossack
Server: Sylph
user: sandman16
By Sylph.Cossack 2011-09-01 19:06:32
Link | Quote | Reply

Use which ever you prefer, honestly doesn't matter now.
 Shiva.Superdan
Server: Shiva
user: SuperDan
By Shiva.Superdan 2011-09-01 19:07:45
Link | Quote | Reply

Sturmwind ftw!

<.<
 Sylph.Cossack
Server: Sylph
user: sandman16
By Sylph.Cossack 2011-09-01 19:21:15
Link | Quote | Reply

yea, Sturmwind probably is the best low level skill, and Rampage being the best non emp/relic ws.
 Fenrir.Kaomii
Server: Fenrir
user: Kaomii
By Fenrir.Kaomii 2011-09-01 20:10:46
Link | Quote | Reply

Drk needs quite a few weapons leveled to maximize weaponskill damage as you level up.

- Raging Axe at level 1 is the best start.
- Power Slash at level 9 is a decent alternative.
- Sturmwind at level 24.
- Rampage at level 56.
- Guillotine at level 60.

After that, the type of weapon you'd use would be highly dependent on level difference and active buffs.

- Spinning Slash for monsters with high defense.
- Rampage in Abyssea with critical hit atma.
- Infernal Scythe in Abyssea with magic enhancement atma.