Can High Memory Usage Overload Lua?

Language: JP EN DE FR
2010-09-08
New Items
users online
Forum » Windower » Support » Can high memory usage overload lua?
Can high memory usage overload lua?
 Shiva.Malthar
Offline
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Malthar
Posts: 516
By Shiva.Malthar 2019-06-25 11:53:25
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Here is the memory all my addons are using:
12:50:42 > lua m
12:50:42 > Addon memory usage:
12:50:42 > autocontrol Memory: 17.72MB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > AutoInvite Memory: 299.81KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > AutoJoin Memory: 690.44KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > BattleMod Memory: 17.69MB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > Cancel Memory: 222.85KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > Checkparam Memory: 1.04MB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > Clock Memory: 395.24KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > ConsoleBG Memory: 279.92KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > Debuffed Memory: 792.47KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > DistancePlus Memory: 482.38KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > findAll Memory: 650.97KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > GearSwap Memory: 25.54MB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > Infobar Memory: 700.47KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > Itemizer Memory: 1.54MB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > Omen Memory: 309.24KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > Organizer Memory: 708.59KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > PetTP Memory: 705.65KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > porter Memory: 316.42KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > Send Memory: 37.06KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > Shortcuts Memory: 3.61MB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > Silence Memory: 206.07KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > TargetInfo Memory: 375.97KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > temps Memory: 727.06KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > timestamp Memory: 271.87KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > TParty Memory: 347.92KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > Treasury Memory: 20.78MB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > zonetimer Memory: 403.20KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > beastmaster_helper Memory: 25.12MB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > paladin_helper Memory: 24.20MB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > dancer_helper Memory: 23.64MB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > auto_follow Memory: 23.75MB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > F8 Memory: 360.04KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > pup_helper Memory: 24.14MB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > EquipViewer Memory: 147.80KB Stack: 0
12:50:42 > knockblock Memory: 114.31KB Stack: 0
 Asura.Elizabet
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Elizabet
Posts: 496
By Asura.Elizabet 2019-06-25 12:02:17
Link | Quote | Reply
 
What do you mean by overload? If you are running into perf issues with lua it might be the result of a lot of garbage collection and lazy handling of variables on the coder's part. Well other than many other reasons, but with lua in ffxi these days there is a lot of bootleg stuff that works, but not quite optimally coded by professionals.. So depending on what you load, YMMV.
 Shiva.Malthar
Offline
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Malthar
Posts: 516
By Shiva.Malthar 2019-06-25 12:25:10
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Make the game crash.
 Asura.Elizabet
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Elizabet
Posts: 496
By Asura.Elizabet 2019-06-25 12:35:43
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Have you swapped in any of those high res texture .dat floating around, those are knows to cause crash when they upscale too much, or the game hangs a few more seconds on zoning.
 Shiva.Malthar
Offline
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Malthar
Posts: 516
By Shiva.Malthar 2019-06-25 12:41:54
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Nope, just addons, but those hires textures do look nice. :-D
Offline
Posts: 318
By Meeble 2019-06-25 13:06:18
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I've only ever seen memory issues with Highlight, but if you want to optimize your particular setup, you could load/unload your job-specific addons via gearswap.

For example, in your PUP.lua or CharacterName_PUP.lua:
Code
function user_setup()
...
  send_command('lua l autocontrol')
  send_command('lua l pup_helper')
  send_command('lua l pettp')
...
end

function user_unload()
    send_command('lua u autocontrol')
    send_command('lua u pup_helper')
    send_command('lua u pettp')
end

 Shiva.Malthar
Offline
Server: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Malthar
Posts: 516
By Shiva.Malthar 2019-06-25 15:23:07
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Meeble said: »
I've only ever seen memory issues with Highlight, but if you want to optimize your particular setup, you could load/unload your job-specific addons via gearswap.

For example, in your PUP.lua or CharacterName_PUP.lua:
Code
function user_setup()
...
  send_command('lua l autocontrol')
  send_command('lua l pup_helper')
  send_command('lua l pettp')
...
end

function user_unload()
    send_command('lua u autocontrol')
    send_command('lua u pup_helper')
    send_command('lua u pettp')
end

Good idea!!!
Log in to post.