Forum » FFXI » Endgame » Voidwatch » VW Bismarck Strat
VW Bismarck Strat
 Bismarck.Shyral
Server: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: shyral
By Bismarck.Shyral 2013-04-19 19:32:22
Link | Quote | Reply

I just got my Tier II Hyacinth Abyssite, and I'm going to start shouting for Bismarck kills.

I have lots of experience killing enemies like Uptala, Ig-Alima, and Morta, but wanted to find out about one of Bismarck's mechanics before I started leading groups into battle against him.

Both ffxi wiki and BGwiki say that he initially spawns with 5 pugils and then 5 more can potentially spawn during the fight, up to 10 total, if they're held. From the youtube videos I've watched it looks like you have a pld pop, and then once the first 5 are on him, someone vokes bismarck off similar to a Morta fight. However all of Morta's adds spawn initially, there are no additional spawns later.

My question is, what is the preferred way of dealing with additional adds when/if they spawn? Just have a DD act as a secondary tank, and whoever has hate on them takes them to the side? Do they not spawn until a set time later in the fight, at which Bismarck should be dead already?

I appreciate any information that could be provided.
 Bahamut.Tsukime
Server: Bahamut
user: tmva82
By Bahamut.Tsukime 2013-04-19 19:41:19
Link | Quote | Reply

They will spawn for sure, PLD needs to pop Bismarck (or grab hate immediately from person popping) and hold until the fishes spawn. It is very important that no one else do anything on Bismarck until fishes have spawned and PLD has hate. At this point someone else voke Bismarck away and PLD holds the fishes for the rest of the fight.
Hope that helps you a bit, that's the only way I know but I'm curious to see if anyone else have more info on this, I've done the fight a lot of times and never used another strategy.
 Odin.Jassik
VIP
Server: Odin
user: Jassik
By Odin.Jassik 2013-04-19 19:43:19
Link | Quote | Reply