2010-09-08
New Items
users online
Forum » FFXI » Jobs » Dragoon » Gear Advice
Gear Advice
First Page 2
By ZerroTol 2012-07-10 20:10:38
Link | Quote | Reply

I know there are a ton of gear threads here already, but most seem weeks old and I didn't want to jack someone else's thread to ask these questions, so sorry.

I've been playing drg for many years, but only recently got the motivation to get the best gear that I could obtain. This is partly due to finally getting my level 85 Rhong. I doubt Ill ever get the help I need to get some of the gear from a lot of end game events besides VWNM(which I havent even started yet), so I'm looking mostly for easy replacements or gear that can be bought with gil I make from dyna. The following is my current gear set, which I basically use whether TPing or WSing. (I know I'm going to get flamed for saying that, but I'm posting to learn this stuff.)

Replace the 80 Rhong with 85.

The next moves I plan to make are trying to get Brego Gloves and a str ring(pyrosoul currently too expensive for me) to replace heed/keen ring which I currently use. I've been choosing to stick with DA/TA/QA gear, but it's come at a loss to haste which I don't really know if it's better or worse. Which brings me to my first question: Is it worth losing the DA +4% on af3 +2 gloves for +4% haste from brego? If thats the case, should I drop the windbuffet belt and try to get myself a twilight/goading belt for TPing.

My second question is then: Should I WS in windbuffet to hope TA/QA proc which would cause a huge spike in damage, or should I opt for something like pipilaka belt which would only give me slightly better numbers, but much more consistent? I also need advice on what neck I should use for TPing. I plan on just macroing in rancor collar for WS. I see people recommend love torque, but sadly thats out of my reach at the moment. If I knew someone selling one I would just buy it.