Spellcast Help

Language: JP EN DE FR
2010-09-08
New Items
users online
Forum » FFXI » Jobs » Thief » Spellcast Help
Spellcast Help
 Asura.Loneshadow
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 245
By Asura.Loneshadow 2011-08-15 02:01:04
Link | Quote | Reply
 
How would I change spellcast to equip different gear for TP phase while I have aftermath up from my Twashtar?
 Cerberus.Quipto
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Quipto
Posts: 608
By Cerberus.Quipto 2011-08-15 02:05:15
Link | Quote | Reply
 
<if buffactive="Aftermath: Lv.1|Aftermath: Lv.2|Aftermath: Lv.3">
<equip set="AftermathTP" />
</if>

I'm not sure if that's actually what the buff's name is, but it would be something like that. Can add a when="" rule in the equip line if you need. Can also name your Aftermath set whatever you like, just using that as an example.

EDIT: Found the buff name. It's Aftermath: Lv.1, Aftermath: Lv.2, and Aftermath: Lv.3. Edited the rule to reflect it.

EDIT#2: Believe "Aftermath" by itself would work as well, lol.
 Asura.Loneshadow
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 245
By Asura.Loneshadow 2011-08-15 02:15:34
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Aftermath didn't work, I changed it to Aftermath*

Well it works, but its kinda delayed. it won't change the gear right after the WS, I need to use a JA or spell to get the gear change to proc.
 Cerberus.Quipto
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Quipto
Posts: 608
By Cerberus.Quipto 2011-08-15 03:26:26
Link | Quote | Reply
 
If you run Autoexec, you could probably create a rule there to have it swap gear as soon as the effect pops up. Since the effect isn't being applied until after the WS action takes place, that's why you need to perform another action before it reads Aftermath as active.
 Asura.Loneshadow
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 245
By Asura.Loneshadow 2011-08-15 03:40:36
Link | Quote | Reply
 
How would you do that? Never used Autoexec
 Cerberus.Quipto
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Quipto
Posts: 608
By Cerberus.Quipto 2011-08-15 05:16:54
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Sadly, I am not familiar with Autoexec either :(
But I hear great things about it, just haven't delved into it myself yet.
 Lakshmi.Aanalaty
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Aanalaty
Posts: 330
By Lakshmi.Aanalaty 2011-08-15 08:52:21
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I know im not the only one whos curious. What exactly are you changing when aftermath is up that you dont normally wear? If you have a good idea i might totally steal it :P
 Cerberus.Nyanoh
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: wolftamer
Posts: 44
By Cerberus.Nyanoh 2011-08-15 09:09:44
Link | Quote | Reply
 
reason it isn't working right away in the spellcast is because the effect isn't on yet when it's running the check, so until you perform an action it won't register the aftermath.

The way I would do it, is setup a general aftercast/engaged rule that looks for the aftermath buff to set the proper gear when engaging and after all actions. Then, setup a separate rule just for Rudra's Storm apart from your normal WS rules that has a default aftercast into your aftermath gear. If you miss the WS, your next action by the earlier rules will go ahead and switch you back to regular TP gear anyways.

(I too am curious with what you are changing for Twashtar aftermath. Only thing I could possibly even think of would be more attack to take advantage of the double damage, but what are you giving up for it?)
 Bahamut.Zellc
Offline
Server: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: Zellc
Posts: 643
By Bahamut.Zellc 2011-08-15 09:13:57
Link | Quote | Reply
 
for sch when i activate sublimation it does the same thing. i usually just hit my macro twice and it will see the charging sublimation buff and put on my charging/hp gear.
 Cerberus.Nyanoh
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: wolftamer
Posts: 44
By Cerberus.Nyanoh 2011-08-15 09:20:20
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Something like this:
Code
<if status="engaged">
    <if buffactive="Aftermath*">
       <action type="equip" when="Engaged|aftercast" set="AftermathTP"/>
     </if>
     <else>
        <equip when="engaged|aftercast" set="NormalTP" />
     </elseif>
</if>


and later:
Code
<if spell="Rudra's Storm">
    <action type="equip" when="precast" set="Rudra" />
    <action type="equip" when="aftercast" set="AftermathTP" />
</if>


modify set names as needed, but you get the idea of what's going on. First rule puts you in the correct TP gear after every action, second rule makes sure you go into aftermath gear after Rudra's Storm.
Offline
Posts: 412
By Cathaldus 2011-08-15 09:25:40
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I'll post here since I didn't realise there was two spellcast links.

To use AutoExec to do it you place:
Code
<autoexec>
<register event="losebuff_Aftermath*">sc set NOAFTERMATHSET</register>
</autoexec>


in AutoExec.xml it should work, the minute you loose the Aftermath it will equip the set of your choosing.
 Fenrir.Nightfyre
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Nightfyre
Posts: 11680
By Fenrir.Nightfyre 2011-08-15 09:27:36
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Code xml
<register event="gainbuff_Aftermath*" silent="true">sc set Aftermath 1; /ma "Dancing Chains" <t></var>
<register event="losebuff_Aftermath*" silent="true">sc set Aftermath 0; /ma "Dancing Chains" <t></register>

Code xml
<if spell="Dancing Chains"><!-- Insert your method for handling idle/engaged gear here. The idea behind this spell is to force gear changes for AutoExec and any situation where your gear did not swap properly due to lag, open menus, etc. --></if>
<if spell="autoset"><!--put your normal idle|aftercast and engaged|aftercast rules here -->


Have a check when equipping your TP gear for whether the value of $Aftermath is 0 or 1.
 Asura.Loneshadow
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 245
By Asura.Loneshadow 2011-08-15 09:35:30
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Code
<?xml version="2.43" ?>
 
<spellcast>

  <config requireversion="2.20" showgearswaps="False" showspellinfo="False" /> 
  
<sets>

<group name="THF" default="yes">

<set name="Standard|TP|Default"> 
  <head>Raider's Bonnet +2</head>
  <neck>Agasaya's Collar</neck>
  <lear>Suppanomimi</lear>
  <range>Raider's Boomerang</range>
  <rear>Raider's Earring</rear> 
  <hands>Raider's Armlets +1</hands> 
  <body>Rapparee Harness</body>
  <lring>Epona's Ring</lring> 
  <rring>Rajas Ring</rring> 
  <back>Atheling Mantle</back> 
  <waist>Twilight Belt</waist>
  <legs>Raider's Culottes +2</legs>
  <feet>Ballerines</feet>
  
  </set>
  
<set name="AftermathTP"> 
  <head>Raider's Bonnet +2</head>
  <neck>Agasaya's Collar</neck>
  <lear>Suppanomimi</lear>
  <range>Raider's Boomerang</range>
  <rear>Raider's Earring</rear> 
  <hands>Ocelot Gloves</hands> 
  <body>Loki's Kaftan</body>
  <lring>Epona's Ring</lring> 
  <rring>Rajas Ring</rring> 
  <back>Atheling Mantle</back> 
  <waist>Twilight Belt</waist>
  <legs>Raider's Culottes +2</legs>
  <feet>Ballerines</feet>
  
  </set>  
  
<set name="Evis" BaseSet="Standard"> 
  <body>Loki's Kaftan</body>
  <waist>Shadow Belt</waist>
  <lear>Brutal Earring</lear>
  <head>Aias Bonnet</head>
  <neck>Soil Gorget</neck>
  <hands>Raider's Armlets +1</hands>
  <feet>Hecatomb Leggings</feet>
  
  </set>
  
<set name="Rudra" BaseSet="Standard">
  <body>Loki's Kaftan</body>
  <waist>Snow Belt</waist>
  <lear>Brutal Earring</lear>
  <hands>Raider's Armlets +1</hands>
  <head>Aias Bonnet</head>
  <feet>Lithe Boots</feet>
  <legs>Tumbler Trunks</legs>
  <neck>Snow Gorget</neck>
  
  </set>
  
<set name="Dancing" BaseSet="Standard">
  <body>Loki's Kaftan</body>
  <head>Aias Bonnet</head>
  <neck>Soil Gorget</neck>
  <waist>Cuchulain's Belt</waist>
  <rring>Thundersoul Ring</rring>
  <legs>Tumbler Trunks</legs>
  <hands>Assassin's Armlets</hands>
  <lear>Coral Earring</lear>
  <feet>Hecatomb Leggings</feet>
  
  </set>
  
<set name="Precast" BaseSet="Standard">
  <body>Aurore Doublet</body>
  <head>Aurore Beret</head>
  <rear>Velocity Earring</rear>
  <rring>Alert Ring</rring>
  <feet>Ballerines</feet>
  <waist>Sveltesse Gouriz</waist>
  <neck>Evasion Torque</neck>
  <legs>ocelot trousers</legs>
  <hands>Ocelot Gloves</hands>
  
  </set>
  
<set name="Midcast" BaseSet="Standard">
  <waist>Twilight Belt</waist>
  <head>Raider's Bonnet +1</head>
  <lear>Loquac. Earring</lear>
  <body>Aurore Doublet</body>
  <feet>Ballerines</feet>
  <rring>Alert Ring</rring>
  <rear>Velocity Earring</rear>
  <neck>Magoraga Bead Necklace</neck>
  <hands>Ocelot Gloves</hands>
  
  </set>
  
<set name="Aeolian" BaseSet="Standard">
  <body>Loki's Kaftan</body>
  <hands>Raider's Armets +1</hands>
  <waist>Thunder Belt</waist>
  <head>Aias Bonnet</head>
  <neck>Thunder Gorget</neck>
  <lear>Moldavite Earring</lear>
  <rear>Hecate's Earring</rear>
  <feet>Hecatomb Leggings</feet>
  
  </set>
  
  </group>
  
  </sets>
  
<rules>

   <if status="idle">
      <action type="equip" when="idle|aftercast" set="idle" />
	  
   </if>
   
    <elseif status="engaged">
          <action type="equip" when="engaged|aftercast" set="tp" />
		  
   </elseif>
   
<if buffactive="Aftermath*">
  <equip set="AftermathTP" when="engaged|aftercast" />
  
  </if>
  
<if spell="Utsusemi*">
	  <action type="Equip" when="precast" set="Precast"/>
         <action type="midcastdelay" delay="2.8"/>
         <action type="Equip" when="midcast" set="Midcast"/>
		 
     </if>		 
	 
   <if commandprefix="/weaponskill|/ws">
      <if mode="OR" advanced='%spelltargetdistance > 5' tplt="100">
	  
         <cancelspell />
		 
         <return />
		 
      </if>
	  
      <elseif spell="Rudra*">            
         <action type="equip" when="precast" set="Rudra" />
		 
	  </elseif>
	  
      <elseif spell="Aeolian*">            
         <action type="equip" when="precast" set="Aeolian" />
		 
      </elseif>
	  
	  <elseif spell="Evis*">
	     <action type="equip" when="precast" set="Evis" />
		 
	  </elseif>
	  
	  <elseif spell="Danc*">
	     <action type="equip" when="precast" set="Dancing" />
		 
	  </elseif>
	  
   </if>
   
  </rules>
  
  </spellcast>


This is my THF.xml, what would I do exactly on this to fix for aftermath?
I've never used autoexec before.
 Cerberus.Nyanoh
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: wolftamer
Posts: 44
By Cerberus.Nyanoh 2011-08-15 09:42:19
Link | Quote | Reply
 
I don't see why you don't just use the Aftermath TP set for both TP sets...I don't get the point of wearing Rapparee harness just to use AF3+1 hands in this case.
 Asura.Loneshadow
Offline
Server: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 245
By Asura.Loneshadow 2011-08-15 09:44:19
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Use it that way because using SA or TA would change off AF3 hands so I lose the better TH proc rate. And I'm too lazy to spam a macro everytime I used either.
 Fenrir.Nightfyre
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Nightfyre
Posts: 11680
By Fenrir.Nightfyre 2011-08-15 09:44:51
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Change line 104 to
Code xml
<elseif status="engaged">
<if advanced='"$Aftermath" = "1">
<equip when="engaged|aftercast" set="AftermathTP" />
</if>
<else>
<equip when="engaged|aftercast" set="AftermathTP" />
</else>
</elseif>


Delete your current aftermath rule, then add this:
Code xml
<if spell="Dancing Chains">
<if advanced='"$Aftermath" = "1"'>
<equip when="precast" set="AftermathTP" />
</if>
<else>
<equip when="precast" set="TP" />
</else>
<cancelspell />
<return />
</if>


The AutoExec rules go in a seperate file in your AutoExec folder.
 Fenrir.Nightfyre
Offline
Server: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Nightfyre
Posts: 11680
By Fenrir.Nightfyre 2011-08-15 09:45:52
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Asura.Loneshadow said:
Use it that way because using SA or TA would change off AF3 hands so I lose the better TH proc rate. And I'm too lazy to spam a macro everytime I used either.
lolwut
 Cerberus.Nyanoh
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: wolftamer
Posts: 44
By Cerberus.Nyanoh 2011-08-15 09:57:55
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Fenrir.Nightfyre said:
Asura.Loneshadow said:
Use it that way because using SA or TA would change off AF3 hands so I lose the better TH proc rate. And I'm too lazy to spam a macro everytime I used either.
lolwut

^

I am so confused now, lol
 Cerberus.Quipto
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Quipto
Posts: 608
By Cerberus.Quipto 2011-08-15 10:15:31
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Bahamut.Zellc said:
for sch when i activate sublimation it does the same thing. i usually just hit my macro twice and it will see the charging sublimation buff and put on my charging/hp gear.
To fix this you can make a 2nd rule.
<if spell="Sublimation">
<equip when="precast|midcast" set="Sublimation" />
</if>
<if buffactive="Sublimation">
<equip when="precast|midcast|aftercast|idle|resting|engaged" set="Sublimation" />
</if>

It will put you in your sublimation gear the second you activate it and keep you in it the entire time it's up no matter what you do.
 Bahamut.Zellc
Offline
Server: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: Zellc
Posts: 643
By Bahamut.Zellc 2011-08-15 15:43:55
Link | Quote | Reply
 
im not too sure if that would coexist with the rules and sets that are currently in use. the i think it is supposed to work is that when its charging it puts on the charging set and and there is an almost identical set that uses a different <feet> for when sandstorm is up.

the set is from an ex friend of mine, and im not too sure what his sets looked like before i tinkered and added my gear to them.

first thing ill do is change the idle feet to desert boots and see if it works with sandstorm. then ill post the code to see if it needs adjustment.

(5 min later)

as i figured, everything works as intended, except for the double tap for the sublimation macro to change into sublimation set. here is the lines of code that need adjustment possibly:

basically there should be a way to simplify the item sets it think. not too sure how to do it.
 Lakshmi.Aanalaty
Offline
Server: Lakshmi
Game: FFXI
user: Aanalaty
Posts: 330
By Lakshmi.Aanalaty 2011-08-15 16:32:44
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Quote:
Use it that way because using SA or TA would change off AF3 hands so I lose the better TH proc rate. And I'm too lazy to spam a macro everytime I used either.

This is surfacing more and more and is starting to become the new "thf has to killshot!!1!" rumor from like 2003. Has ANYONE seen actual data supporting this? I dont even know how this rumor got started.

The hands clearly state the 'enhances SA' is "Increases 'Sneak Attack' Damage" and has already been tested and a better version of AF+1 hands 15%agi for TA, just 20% and SA. I dont know where this "enhances TH proc rate" stuff comes from. Only thing i can think of is:

Person:"AF2 hands increase TH! So AF3 hands must enhance it somehow too!"
/person sees a TH proc twice in a row while wearing the hands
Person:"OMG it increases the rate!"
/person tells everyone AF3 enhances TH proc rate.
/everyone accepts it as cannon without ever questioning it

If there has been ANY data of any kind on this rumor I would love to see it. Im not being facetious. If this does work, i most certainly want to know about it as truth>ignorance, but i havent seen anything but random people just saying this. Not so much as an anecdote let alone hard, measured data.

If there is no data, i implore one of the many believers to test it.
 Cerberus.Quipto
Offline
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Quipto
Posts: 608
By Cerberus.Quipto 2011-08-15 17:20:40
Link | Quote | Reply
 
Bahamut.Zellc said: »
im not too sure if that would coexist with the rules and sets that are currently in use. the i think it is supposed to work is that when its charging it puts on the charging set and and there is an almost identical set that uses a different <feet> for when sandstorm is up.

the set is from an ex friend of mine, and im not too sure what his sets looked like before i tinkered and added my gear to them.

first thing ill do is change the idle feet to desert boots and see if it works with sandstorm. then ill post the code to see if it needs adjustment.

(5 min later)

as i figured, everything works as intended, except for the double tap for the sublimation macro to change into sublimation set. here is the lines of code that need adjustment possibly:

basically there should be a way to simplify the item sets it think. not too sure how to do it.
You can leave your current rules as they are but you still need to add the sublimation activation rule if you don't want to have to "double tap" when using it.
Log in to post.