A few dumb questions
First Page 2 3 4 5 6
 Cerberus.Liandaru
Server: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Liandrian
By Cerberus.Liandaru 2011-05-12 06:19:28
Link | Quote | Reply

After years of being a black mage, I'm finally swallowing my pride and leveling white mage. I swore I never would, I've never gotten any gear for it what so ever. So I'm a noob when it comes to gear and macros. I've seen a few interesting gear set ups, but honestly have no idea how a lot of the mechanics work.

First off, for the white mage who doesn't have a lot of gil to play around with, will AF work for a while, or will I look gimped if that's all I have? What AH pieces are absolutely vital? Are there NMs that drop items that are vital?

I'm a little unsure as to what the difference between Cura and Curaga is. Can someone explain that to me?

Is there a macro for healing alliance members who aren't in your party? I usually end up typing out /ma "Cure" <name goes here>, but there's got to be a better way to do it that I'm not catching on to.

Can a Taru be an effective melee whm?
 Shiva.Msthief
Server: Shiva
user: Msthief
By Shiva.Msthief 2011-05-12 06:27:21
Link | Quote | Reply

Vital:
Light staff and Noble's (it's very cheap now) or the dominion ops Facio Bliaut (look it up) on the body slot. Those two will get you halfway there in my opinion.

Nice to have, easy route:
The empyrean legs and head are obnoxiously good, but they require some level of work and I don't know how easy it is for you to do +1's (or +2 if you like). Do you have a loq-earring from blm? That's an easy good slot.

Cura is a long discussion, personally I'd ignore the whole thing especially with abyssea if you just plan on being a cure ***.

Anyone, I repeat ANYONE, can do good damage with Hexa + RR.

My credentials: I'm one of those people that dual boxes a Nin + Whm. I started out half-assing my Whm and slowly but surely have made it into something to be admired.
 Shiva.Msthief
By Shiva.Msthief 2011-05-12 06:29:41